Haringey Lib Dems choose new leadership team


Liz Morris and Josh Dixon are the new Leader and Deputy Leader of Haringey Liberal Democrats.

Haringey Liberal Democrats have announced their new Leader and Deputy Leader following their Annual General Meeting on Wednesday night (16th May).

The new Leader of the Opposition in Haringey is Cllr Liz Morris (Highgate ward) and her Deputy will be Cllr Josh Dixon (Alexandra ward).

Cllr Liz Morris is a marketing professional and community activist who has represented Highgate ward since 2014. She has been the Group Deputy Leader for 3 years during which time she has campaigned on improved council services, crime and Children’s Centres. She also managed the Lib Dem Call In to stop the Haringey Development Vehicle (HDV) earlier this year which was voted against by Haringey’s Labour Group.

Cllr Josh Dixon works for the National Citizen Service, a government-funded programme for 16-17 year olds which seeks to further social mobility, social integration and civic engagement. Cllr Dixon is also the Campaign Chair for the Haringey Liberal Democrats and managed the 2018 local election campaign, which saw the Lib Dems almost double the size of their council group. Cllr Dixon is newly elected in Alexandra ward.

Speaking in response to her election, Cllr Morris said that:
"We made tremendous advances in this year’s local elections and I am determined to build on them. Our Lib Dem Group is talented, diverse and dynamic - and with 15 councillors we will be an even stronger opposition to the new Momentum-led council. We are ready to hold the Labour group to account and provide the residents of Haringey with a positive, liberal alternative."

Cllr Dixon said:
"It is a real honour to be chosen first by voters in Alexandra and now by my Liberal Democrat colleagues. I am looking forward to working with residents and community groups across the borough to deliver more affordable housing and improved local services."
The full list of elected positions are as follows:
  • Leader: Cllr Liz Morris (Highgate Ward)
  • Deputy Leader: Cllr Josh Dixon (Alexandra Ward)
  • Chief Whip: Cllr Luke Cawley-Harrison (Crouch End Ward)
  • Member of Overview and Scrutiny: Cllr Pippa Connor (Muswell Hill Ward)
  • Group Chair: Cllr Viv Ross (Fortis Green Ward)
  • Deputy Group Chair: Cllr Tammy Palmer (Crouch End Ward)
  • Deputy Whip: Cllr Paul Dennison (Highgate Ward)

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.